Mount Carmel Cemetery

This past Easter, my family and I weren’t do anything at all. First time ever! Since it was such a beautiful day, I couldn’t resist checking out some local cemeteries. According to Find A Grave, there were 3 men buried of note. Of course, I had to go! James Braddock- I’ve heard of him, but never saw “Cinderella Man.” William Foxen- not a baseball fan really, but it was opening day of baseball. I just had to take a picture. George Gallagher- I LOVED Heathcliff! I remember the cartoon too. It was a staple with my one brother and I to watch after school.

Mount Carmel Cemetery is on Serpentine Road, on the border of Englewood. I usually never pull into a cemetery, unless I have to, but there is plenty of street parking. I believe the cemetery was split up: one side had flat stones and the other side (the one I explored) had the regular standing headstones. Many of the burials I saw were fairly new (within the past 50 years), but still worth a look. I’ve see on Facebook pictures of cemeteries with little ceramic photos of the deceased, embellishing the headstone. I’ve been jealous because I never found one. Wish granted here: came across a handful. From my casual observation, there are quite a few firefighters buried here. I didn’t get to explore both sides of the cemetery, or even the standing headstone side because a lot of families were visiting. Felt disrespectful walking around snapping photos, so I got back in my car and visited 2 more older cemeteries (yes, I’ll be posting them!).

IMG_0329

IMG_0314

IMG_0258

IMG_0260

IMG_0202

IMG_0262

IMG_0263

IMG_0313

IMG_0283

IMG_0272

IMG_0268

IMG_0253

IMG_0244

IMG_0238

IMG_0224

IMG_0225

IMG_0227

IMG_0232

IMG_0217

IMG_0198

IMG_0195

IMG_0308 (2)

Leave a Reply

