Demarest Train Station

I was trying to keep track of what I have posted and what I haven’t. I could have sworn I posted this one a while back. Apparently, I did not!

Without further ado, here is Demarest Train Station. As the historic blue marker states, the station was built in 1872 and considered the “handsomest one the line.” Believe it or not, the station was named after the state senator (Ralph S. Demarest) and director of the railroad. In 1903, the borough became incorporated and was named after him.

The trains ran along the Erie Railroad Line, taking passengers. In 1966, the line stopped taking passengers and instead, started hauling freight. In 1977, the depot became a senior center, but the Demarest Historical Society uses it as well. Finally, in 2004, this site was added to both the National and New Jersey Registers of Historic Places. I adore the detail on this depot and I hope you do too!

IMG_1192

IMG_1194

IMG_1195

IMG_1197

IMG_1199

IMG_1200

IMG_1201

IMG_1202

IMG_1204

IMG_1205

IMG_1208

IMG_1243

Leave a Reply

