Zion Evangelical Lutheran Church and Cemetery

I was trying to get home and took the scenic route, when my friend and I stumbled across this church and cemetery. I did one of those Mission Impossible turns into the small parking lot (had to fix myself so I would be between 2 lines, not 3). I really like coming across places I didn’t know existed or just forgot where they were located. Little treasures!

According to the church website (and a marker on the side), the church’s cornerstone was placed in 1820. On October 14 (my birthday!), 1821, the church was dedicated and initially named Evangelical Lutheran Church of Saddle River and Ramapough. It wasn’t until 1900 that the church was renamed to its current name. Unfortunately, there is no note of when the first burial occurred, however the cemetery is still active. There is one mausoleum erected, but I wasn’t able to find dates and could barely see names on the inside. When I walked up the steps, there was an empty beehive (I’m certain of it) and lots of broken glass that most likely was due to a vandal. It’s covered in ivy and fascinating, to say the least. There are also 3 wooden crosses with American flags next to them. They are unmarked and I had gone a week before July 4th. Could they soldiers? Could it just be patriotic decoration? I’m not sure. I probably should have emailed the church and most likely will. Promise I’ll do an update!

IMG_1080

IMG_1082

IMG_1085

IMG_1086

IMG_1089

IMG_1091

IMG_1092

IMG_1093

IMG_1094

IMG_1095

IMG_1099

IMG_1105

IMG_1108

IMG_1114

IMG_1117

IMG_1118

IMG_1120

IMG_1121

IMG_1123

IMG_1124

Leave a Reply

